By Thoko Ziba 10/4/2015
Former Malawi President Bakili Muluzi is furious with Malawi President Peter Mutharika for going back to the agreement which was meant to announce his son Atupele Muluzi as country’s Second Vice President.

The plan according to impeccable sources was to strategise towards the succession of the presidency incase of anything and to weaken the office of current Vice President Saulos Chilima because he comes from central region.
State house sources have confirmed that Muluzi feels Peter Mutharika is confused between being loyal to him and his son and sticking with Chilima. “We can confirm all is not well here, Muluzi and a section of others from DPP wanted Mutharika to give Atupele more powers and right now they feel insulted to be just given the mere position of Minister of Home Affairs.” Said the source.
Another source who is close to Peter Mutharika has revealed there was a meeting behind closed doors at state house in Sanjika Palace where Peter Mutharika’s aid Ben Phiri told Bakili Muluzi he should not worry for now, “We will find a best time to get Chilima because at the moment we are still unpopular after a few scandals such as NAC so we have to be careful how we handle Saulos otherwise it will backfire, Atupele must be patient.”

The current cabinet reshuffle as below was expected to name Atupele Muluzi as Second Vice President but Mutharika changed the list last minute fearing the public anger over wasting tax payer’s money through creating another office of the second vp.

1.State President, Minister of Defence and Commander-In- Chief of the Malawi Defence Force and the Malawi Police Service:His Excellency Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika
Vice President and MinisterResponsible for Disaster and Relief Management, National Public Events and Chairperson of the Civil Service andPublic Service Reform Commission: Right Honourable Saulos Klaus Chilima
Minister of Finance, Economic Planning and Development: Honourable Goodall Gondwe
Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation: Honourable George Chaponda, M.P.
Minister of Labour and Manpower Development: Honourable Henry Mussa, M.P.
Minister of Health:Honourable Dr.Jean Kalilani, M.P.
Minister of Gender,Children,Disability and Social Welfare: Honourable Patricia Kaliati, M.P.
Minister of Home Affairs and Internal Security:Honourable Atupele Muluzi, M.P.
Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs:Honourable Samuel Tembenu
10.Minister of Information,Tourism and Culture: Honourable Kondwani Nankhumwa, M.P.
11.Minister of Natural Resources,Energy and Mining: Honourable Bright Msaka, S.C.
Minister of Agriculture,Irrigation and Water Development: Honourable Dr. Allan Chiyembekeza,M.P.
Minister of Industry and Trade: Mwanamveka,M.P. HonourableJoseph
Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development: Honourable Paul Chibingu, M.P.
Ministry of Transport and Public Works:Honourable Francis Kasaila, M.P.
Minister of Education, Science and Technology: Honourable Dr.Emmanuel Fabiano, M.P.
Minister of Local Government and Rural Development: Honourable Trasizio Gowelo, M.P.
Minister of Youth and Sports Development:Honourable Grace Obama Chiumia,M.P.
19.Deputy Minister of Education, Science and Technology: Honourable Vincent Winstone Ghambi,M.P.
20.Deputy Minister of Defence:Honourable Jappie Mhango,